CAP Foundation

CAP Foundation Directors/Officers (2016-17)


DIRECTORS (in alphabetical order) :

Sinan Akdeniz, President, East Coast Fund Management Inc.

Sinan Akdeniz received his Bachelor of Science, Honours Physics, from the University of Manchester in 1984. He then qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Touche Ross and Co. UK, before moving to Toronto and joining the TD Bank. Sinan worked as a derivatives trader before progressively holding more senior trading and management positions at TD Bank Financial Group. He was Vice-Chair, Global Credit Trading for TD Securities inc, and Senior Vice-President and Global Head, Credit Portfolio Management for TD Bank, based in London. He then served as Chief Operating Officer, TD Securities inc., responsible for the firm's global back office, middle office, technology and finance departments based in Toronto. On leaving TD Bank in 2008, Sinan served as a Commissioner at the Ontario Securities Commission until 2014. He is currently the President of East Coast Fund Management Inc.

Peter Calamai, Communications Consultant, Freelance Writer, and Editor

Peter Calamai worked for more than four decades in Canadian daily newspapers, as a news correspondent for the Southam newspapers, as editorial page editor of The Ottawa Citizen and as national science reporter for the Toronto Star. He now is a communications consultant, freelance writer and editor based in Ottawa. A founding director of both the Canadian Science Writers’ Association and the Science Media Centre of Canada, Calamai is a three times winner of the National Newspaper Award. He graduated from McMaster University in 1965 with a B.Sc. in Physics. An adjunct journalism professor at Carleton University since 2001, Calamai is also a Fellow of the Institute for Science, Society and Policy at the University of Ottawa. In 2014 he was appointed as a member of the Order of Canada for “his achievements as a science journalist and his contributions to the cause of literacy.” On June 11, 2015 Calamai received an honourary Doctor of Science degree from McMaster University.

LeeAnn Janissen, Ceramic Artist, Toronto, ON

LeeAnn Janissen received a PhD in sub-atomic particle physics from Carleton University in 1993.  She then worked in the capital markets, first with Citibank in Toronto, and then with TD Securities in Toronto and London England, where she held the title of AVP, Vice-President and Director. During this time, LeeAnn obtained an MBA from the Roman School of Business at the University of Toronto.  She retired from TD Securities in 2009, and is now a practicing Ceramic Artist.  LeeAnn has maintained close ties with the physics community, serving on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Light Source from 2008-2013.  In addition to being a member of the CAPF Foundation Board of Directors, LeeAnn is also actively engaged in the craft community.

Gabor Kunstatter, University of Winnipeg

Gabor Kunstatter obtained both his B.A.Sc. in Engineering Science (Physics) and his PhD in general relativity at the University of Toronto. He spent two years at Imperial College (London) as a NATO Postdoctoral Fellow before returning to the University of Toronto for four years as an NSERC University Research Fellow. Dr. Kunstatter took up his current position at the University of Winnipeg in 1985, becoming a Full Professor of Physics in 1992. He served as Chair of the Physics Department from 2000-2002 and spent the next six years completing a five year term as Dean of Science. He has been a visiting scientist at M.I.T., Université de Paris (Orsay), UNAM (Mexico), University of Nottingham and CECS (Chile). Dr. Kunstatter’s research interests include a variety of topics in theoretical physics. He has worked on relativity, gauge theory quantization, finite temperature quantum field theory, quantum computing and quantum gravity. Most recently, his work focuses on the semi-classical effects of quantum gravity on black holes and black hole formation. He is a founding member of the Winnipeg Institute for Theoretical Physics. Dr. Kunstatter has been a member of the CAP for close to twenty-five years, serving the association in various roles. He also served on the Editorial Advisory Board of the CJP. Dr. Kunstatter completed two terms on NSERC GSC’s, the first from 1992-95 on GSC 29 and the second from 2006-09 on GSC 17, which he chaired in the last year.

Michael Morrow, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Michael Morrow received his B.Sc. from McMaster University and his M.Sc. and PhD from the University of British Columbia. He held a Killam postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Guelph. He is currently a professor in the Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography at Memorial University of Newfoundland and was the head of that department from 1998-2001. He has served on a number of grant and award selection committees and is a past-president of the Canadian Association of Physicists. His research interests are in the areas of biophysics and soft condensed matter physics.

J. Michael Roney, University of Victoria 

Dr. Michael Roney completed his undergraduate studies at Carleton University after which he spent two years teaching in Sierra Leone with CUSO. He received his M.Sc. from McGill University focusing on medical physics instrumentation. He then shifted to work on instrumentation for subatomic particle physics with the Carleton/NRC group receiving his Ph.D. from Carleton University in 1989. Following two postdoctoral years with University of Chicago's Enrico Fermi Institute, he was appointed an IPP Research Scientist working at CERN on the OPAL Experiment making precision measurements of the weak mixing angle, the number of light neutrinos, and searching for new particles, including the Higgs. In 1996 he joined the faculty at the University of Victoria where he served as Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy from 2003-2008. Professor Roney's current research involves searching for new physics in the flavour sector of the Standard Model using precision electroweak measurements as well as direct searches for new fundamental particles and processes. He has led analysis teams in both the OPAL and SLAC-based BABAR collaborations and serves as the BABAR Physics Analysis Coordinator for a term that ends in 2010. He is also a member of the Japanese-based T2K collaboration which probes neutrino mixing. He has been leading the Canadian effort on the exciting, recently proposed international project, SuperB - an electron-positron collider designed to search for new physics at the precision frontier with 100 times the intensity of existing facilities. Professor Roney has taught physics at every level from secondary through to graduate school, and has supervised the research of many graduate, as well as undergraduate, students. His research group includes technical and postdoctoral personnel and graduate and undergraduate students. He is a long-time member of the CAP and has served as Chairman of the CAP Division of Particle Physics and as CAP President. He has also served as an IPP Councillor, on U.S. D.O.E. and NSF panels, has chaired an NSERC review committee and serves on the BABAR International Finance Committee and TRIUMF Policy and Planning Advisory Committee.


Chair:  J. Michael Roney 
Vice-Chair:  Michael Morrow
Secretary:  Michael Morrow
Treasurer:  David Lockwood
Vice-Treasurer:  Richard MacKenzie

Executive Manager:  Francine Ford, CAP