CAP - NSERC Liaison Committee

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) established a Liaison Committee in 1995, and it has contributed to many years of fruitful interactions between the Canadian physics community and NSERC.

The CAP-NSERC Liaison Committee operates at arm’s length from both the CAP and NSERC. It provides a forum for ongoing dialogue between the Canadian physics research community and NSERC on matters of broad interest to the community and NSERC.  

Role of the Committee: The role of the Liaison Committee includes, but is not limited to:

  • Identification, discussion and analysis of opportunities that the Canadian physics research community could seize or build on, and challenges it may face, in its quest to be at the forefront of research at the international level.
  • Communication, discussion and analysis of issues brought forward by the Canadian physics research community and their suggestions concerning NSERC’s programs.
  • Discussion of topics on which NSERC is consulting the community and preparation of responses on these topics.
  • Discussion of matters that may help to inform the Group Chair for his/her participation in the Committee on Grants and Scholarships (COGS).

The Committee's Terms of Reference as well as recent news, activities and reports can be found at

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP (effective 2015 June 15)

  • William (Bill) Whelan, University of Prince Edward Island - Chair of the LC (term ends June 2017)
  • Sjoerd Roorda, University de Montréal - Quantum and Soft Condensed Matter Physics (term ends June 2018)
  • Wayne Hocking, University of Western Ontario - Near-Earth and Space Physics (term ends June 2017)
  • Rituparna Kanungo, St Mary’s University University - Subatomic Physics (term ends June 2018)
  • Rainer Dick, University of Saskatchewan - Theoretical and Mathematical Physics (term ends June 2016)
  • Wojciech Rozmus, University of Alberta - Atomic and Molecular Physics, Optics and Lasers, and Plasmas (term ends June 2017)
  • Stephen Pistorius, University of Manitoba - Biomedical and Biological Physics (term ends June 2016)



  • Sarah Overington, interim Team Leader, overseeing the Computer Science and Physics portfolio within the Mathematical, Environmental and Physical Sciences Division of NSERC’s Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate
  • Elizabeth Boston, Director of NSERC’s Mathematical, Environmental and Physical Division within the Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate
  • Li-Hong Xu, Chair of NSERC’s Physics Evaluation Group


  • Donna Strickland, CAP Director of Academic Affairs
  • Francine Ford, CAP Executive Director