About the CAP

Friends of CAP

Individuals designated as Friends of CAP are ambassadors for the Canadian Association of Physicists within their home institutions. Their mandate is primarily to enhance the profile of the CAP and to spearhead the annual membership campaign at their home institutions. Friends will liaise with the Past President, whose prime responsibility is for membership, and with the CAP office staff, who handle applications and membership renewals via the CAP’s web site. Recruiting materials, news, and requests for information / action on membership issues will be sent to Friends from time to time via the Past President and the CAP office. Contact information for the current list of the Friends of CAP is listed below. Many thanks to these individuals for their hard work on behalf of the CAP!

Acadia University
Dr. Craig Bennett (902) 585-1150 craig.bennett@acadiau.ca
Bishop's University
(819) 822-9600 lnelson@ubishops.ca
Brandon University
Dr. Todd Fugleberg (204) 571-8577 fuglebergt@brandonu.ca
Brock University
(905) 688-5550 physicschair@brocku.ca
Canadian Association of Physicists
Mrs. Chantal Etheve-Meek (613) 562-5614 capmem@uottawa.ca
Carleton University
Prof. Alain Bellerive (613) 520-2600 alainb@physics.carleton.ca
Concordia University
(514) 848-2424 a.champagne@concordia.ca
Dalhousie University
Dr. Daniel Labrie (902) 494-2322 daniel.labrie@dal.ca
École Polytechnique de Montréal
Dr. Arthur Yelon (514) 340-4711 arthur.yelon@polymtl.ca
Dr. Jean-Claude Kieffer (514) 228-6923 kieffer@emt.inrs.ca
Institute of Particle Physics
(250) 721-7705 mroney@uvic.ca
Investors Group Financial Services Inc.
Mr. Mick Lord (613) 596-0068 micklord@gmail.com
Kwantlen Polytechnic University
(604) 599-2616 fergal.callaghan@kpu.ca
Lakehead University
Dr. Gautam Das (807) 346-7810 gdas@lakeheadu.ca
Laurentian University
Dr. Ubi Wichoski (705) 675-1151 uwichoski@laurentian.ca
McGill University
Prof. David Cooke (514) 398-2766 cooke@physics.mcgill.ca
McMaster University
Dr. Bruce D. Gaulin (905) 525-9140 gaulin@physics.mcmaster.ca
Memorial University
Prof. Stefan Wallin (709) 864-8880 swallin@mun.ca
Mount Allison University
Dr. David Lee Hornidge (506) 364-2586 dhornidg@mta.ca
National Research Council Canada
Dr. Eric Svensson (613) 584-8811 eric.svensson@cnl.ca
Queen's University
Dr. James Stotz (613) 533-6817 jstotz@queensu.ca
Royal Military College
Dr. Jean-Marc Noel (613) 541-6000 jean-marc.noel@rmc.ca
Ryerson University
(416) 979-5000 anamilic@ryerson.ca
Dr. Raffi Karshafian (416) 979-5000 karshafian@ryerson.ca
Saint Mary's University
Dr. Adam James Sarty (902) 420-5664 adam.sarty@smu.ca
Simon Fraser University
Dr. Michael Thewalt (778) 782-5740 thewalt@sfu.ca
St. Francis Xavier University
Dr. Michael Otto Steinitz (902) 867-3909 msteinit@stfx.ca
Thompson Rivers University
(250) 828-5448 gweremczuk@tru.ca
Trent University
Dr. Rachel Wortis (705) 748-1011 rwortis@trentu.ca
Trinity Western University
(604) 513-2121 arnold.sikkema@twu.ca
Université de Moncton
(506) 858-4361 normand.beaudoin@umoncton.ca
Université de Montréal
Prof. Richard MacKenzie (514) 343-5860 richard.mackenzie@umontreal.ca
Université de Sherbrooke
Dr. Nicolas Doiron-Leyraud (819) 821-8000 nicolas.doiron-leyraud@usherbrooke.ca
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
Dr. Jacques Huot (819) 376-5011 jacques.huot@uqtr.ca
Universite Laval
Prof. Tigran Galstian (418) 656-2025 galstian@phy.ulaval.ca
University of Alberta
Prof. Frank Marsiglio (780) 492-1067 fm3@ualberta.ca
University of British Columbia
Prof. Joerg Rottler (604) 822-3510 jrottler@physics.ubc.ca
University of British Columbia - Okanagan
(250) 807-8032 john.braun@ubc.ca
University of Calgary
Dr. David Hobill (403) 220-6965 hobill@ucalgary.ca
University of Guelph
Dr. John Dutcher (519) 824-4120 dutcher@uoguelph.ca
University of Lethbridge
(403) 329-2358 steve.patitsas@uleth.ca
University of Manitoba
Dr. Kumar Satish Sharma (204) 474-6181 sharma@physics.umanitoba.ca
University of New Brunswick
(506) 453-4723 phychair@unb.ca
University of Northern British Columbia
Dr. Erik Jensen (250) 960-6463 erik.jensen@unbc.ca
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
(905) 721-8668 joseph.macmillan@uoit.ca
University of Ottawa
Dr. Bela Joos (613) 562-5800 bjoos@uottawa.ca
University of Prince Edward Island
Dr. Douglas Dahn (902) 566-0599 dahn@upei.ca
University of Regina
Dr. Edward L. Mathie (778) 265-6930 mathie@uregina.ca
University of Saskatchewan
Prof. Thomas Steele (306) 966-6393 tom.steele@usask.ca
University of the Fraser Valley
(604) 504-7441 jeff.chizma@ufv.ca
University of Toronto
Prof. Harry Ruda (416) 978-4556 ruda@ecf.utoronto.ca
University of Toronto Mississauga
(905) 828-3833 cps.utm@utoronto.ca
University of Victoria
Prof. Rogerio de Sousa (250) 721-7712 rdesousa@uvic.ca
University of Waterloo
(519) 888-4567 phychair@uwaterloo.ca
University of Western Ontario
(519) 661-2111 bobsica@purplecrowlidar.ca
University of Windsor
Dr. Gordon William Frederic Drake (519) 253-3000 gdrake@uwindsor.ca
University of Winnipeg
Prof. Gabor Kunstatter (204) 786-9754 g.kunstatter@uwinnipeg.ca
Wilfrid Laurier University
(519) 884-0710 choang@wlu.ca
York University
Prof. Tom Kirchner (416) 736-2100 tomk@yorku.ca