francais

2013 High School / CEGEP Teaching Award Winners

The CAP and its award partners - TRIUMF, Perimeter Institute, Nelson Education, and the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC - are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013 CAP High School/CEGEP Teaching Award Winners. Recipients will be presented with their awards at either their school or the CAP Congress, as coordinated with the recipient and school.
HS-BC-YK view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (British Columbia and Yukon) is awarded to

Mr. Bruce Gowe, Penticton Secondary School, for his inspiration to his students, his commitment to make his classroom an exciting place and his impact on the current generation of young physics students at Penticton High. Under Bruce's leadership, the fraction of students taking Physics has become anomalously high, and the Penticton High School Physics Olympics Team has placed first in BC more often than any other team in the past two decades. Among the first generation of high school teachers to incorporate “clickers”, he makes use of technologies in the classroom and laboratory to engage students in real-life physics.

HS-ON view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Ontario) is awarded to

Mr. Dave Doucette, Richmond Hill High School, for his tireless promotion of Physics Education Research, whose efforts have transformed the practices of teachers across Ontario. Dave is not just a great physics teacher - he is a great teacher of physics teachers. He has given hundreds of workshops and he has provided countless hours of individual mentoring. He has led the resurgence of the Ontario Association of Physics Teachers - doubling conference numbers and developing a summer camp for teachers. His enthusiasm is inspirational, his knowledge profound and his generosity greatly appreciated.

HS-Atlantic view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Atlantic) is awarded to

Mr. Jason Jennings, Sackville High School, for his excellence in teaching, with a focus on bringing more modern physics – along with more student-centered learning approaches – into his own high school classroom, and others around Nova Scotia and Canada. Along with continuously seeking out enrichment opportunities for his own students through field-trips to nearby Saint Mary's University to view the observatory and conduct a radioactivity lab, Jason Jennings has capitalized on his own participation in Perimeter Institute’s Einstein Plus summer workshops to become a workshop facilitator himself, and a teacher-workshop organizer in the Halifax region. He remains committed to improving his own educational background while teaching his students with a dedicated understanding of engagement techniques founded in Physics Education Research [NOTE: After receiving this award, J. Jennings was interviewed by CBC. His interview can be heard at http://www.cbc.ca/player/News/Canada/NS/ID/2392062017/].

HS-QC-NU view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Quebec and Nunavut) is awarded to

Chris Whittaker, Dawson College, for his promotion of active learning pedagogies for teaching physics in Québec. Besides writing and producing episodes for CBC’s Ideas, Chris’ background includes a Masters degree in Engineering Physics and another Masters in Social Work. This unusual background makes Chris a unique teacher who continues to show exceptional interest in his students and genuine care for their conceptual learning. As chair of the physics department and later as Science program coordinator at Dawson, Chris spearheaded the design of next generation Active Learning Classrooms (enviously referred to by non-Dawson faculty as ‘the holodeck’). It is with great pleasure that the Canadian Association of Physicists names Mr. Chris Whittaker as the Québec recipient of this award.

HS-Prairies-NWT view medal information back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Prairies and Northwest Territories) decision has not yet been published.

Please check back at a later date.

english

Récipiendaires des Prix ACP en enseignement au secondaire 2013

L'Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes (ACP) et ses partenaires - TRIUMF, Perimeter Institute, Nelson Education, et les ingénieurs et des géoscientifiques de la Colombie-Britannique - sont heureuse d'annoncer les noms des lauréats des Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial. Les lauréats recevrons leurs prix soit à leurs école ou au congrès de l'ACP.
HS-BC-YK voir détails de la médaille back to top

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Colombie-Britannique et Yukon) 2013 sera décerné à

Mr. Bruce Gowe, Penticton Secondary School, pour l’inspiration qu’il insuffle à ses étudiants, son engagement à faire de sa classe un endroit stimulant et son influence sur la génération actuelle de jeunes étudiants en physique à l’école secondaire de Penticton. Sous la direction de Bruce, la proportion d’étudiants à prendre la physique est devenue anormalement élevée et l’équipe des olympiades de physique de l’école secondaire de Penticton s’est classée première en Colombie-Britannique, plus souvent que toute autre équipe au cours des vingt dernières années. Membre de la première génération d’enseignants au secondaire à intégrer les « cliqueurs », Bruce mise sur les technologies en classe et au laboratoire afin d’éveiller les étudiants à la physique de la vie réelle.

HS-ON voir détails de la médaille back to top

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Ontario) 2013 sera décerné à

Mr. Dave Doucette, Richmond Hill High School, pour ses efforts à promouvoir sans relâche la recherche en enseignement de la physique, transformant par là les pratiques des enseignants de partout en Ontario. Dave n’est pas qu’un grand professeur de physique – il est un grand enseignant des professeurs de physique. On lui doit des centaines d’ateliers et d’innombrables heures d’encadrement personnel. Il a dirigé la renaissance de l’Ontario Association of Physics Teachers – doublant le nombre de conférences et mettant sur pied un camp d’été pour enseignants. Son enthousiasme est inspirant, son savoir étendu et sa générosité vivement appréciée.

HS-Atlantic voir détails de la médaille back to top

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Atlantique) 2013 sera décerné à

Mr. Jason Jennings, Sackville High School, pour son excellence en enseignement, qui met l’accent sur la physique plus moderne - et sur des approches d’apprentissage davantage axées sur les étudiants - dans sa propre classe de niveau secondaire et ailleurs en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Canada. Tout en cherchant sans cesse à multiplier les possibilités d’enrichissement pour ses propres étudiants par des sorties, à la Saint Mary's University voisine, pour y visiter l’observatoire et y tenir un laboratoire sur la radioactivité, Jason Jennings a misé sur sa propre participation aux ateliers d’été « Einstein Plus » du Perimeter Institute afin d’animer lui-même des ateliers et d’en organiser pour les enseignants de la région de Halifax. Il demeure résolu à améliorer la formation qu’il a lui-même reçue tout en inculquant à ses étudiants une compréhension vouée à des techniques d’engagement fondées sur la recherche en enseignement de la physique [NOTE: Après avoir reçu ce prix, J. Jennings a été accordé une entrevue à CBC. Pour entendre cette entrevue, cliquez sur le lien http://www.cbc.ca/player/News/Canada/NS/ID/2392062017/].

HS-QC-NU voir détails de la médaille back to top

Le Prix ACP d'excellence en enseignement de la physique au secondaire et au collégial (Québec et Nunavut) 2013 sera décerné à

Chris Whittaker, Dawson College, pour sa promotion de pédagogies actives d’apprentissage de la physique au Québec. En plus d’avoir écrit et produit des épisodes pour l’émission « Ideas » de la CBC, la formation de Chris comprend une maîtrise en génie physique et une autre en travail social. Ces antécédents inhabituels font de lui un enseignant unique qui ne cesse de porter un intérêt exceptionnel à ses étudiants et une attention véritable à leur apprentissage conceptuel. À titre de doyen du département de physique, puis de coordonnateur du programme de science à Dawson, Chris a dirigé la conception des classes d’apprentissage actif de la prochaine génération (que les enseignants de l’extérieur de Dawson appellent avec envie le 'holodeck'). C’est avec un immense plaisir que l’Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes désigne M. Chris Whittaker lauréat de ce prix pour le Québec.

HS-Prairies-NWT voir détails de la médaille back to top

The 2013 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics (Prairies and Northwest Territories) decision has not yet been published.

Please check back at a later date.