Board of Directors

2020-21 Board of Directors


Prof. Robert I. Thompson
University of Calgary

Past President

Prof. Shohini Ghose
Wilfrid Laurier University


Prof. Manu Paranjape
University of Montreal

Vice-President Elect

Prof. Barbara Frisken
Simon Fraser University


Prof. Christine Kraus
Laurentian University


  Executive Director

Mrs. Francine Ford
Canadian Association of Physicists

Director – Professional Affairs

Dr. Daniel Cluff
CanMind Associates

(term ends June 2023)

Director – Academic Affairs

Dr. Ubi Wichoski
Laurentian University

(term ends June 2021)

Director – International Affairs

Prof. Ritu Kanungo
St. Mary’s University

(term ends June 2023)

Director – Communications

Sandra Ribeiro
Canadian Light Source Inc.

(Board appointment until the next AGM vote)

Term ends June 2022

Director – Student Affairs

Dr. Ben Newling
University of New Brunswick

(term ends June 2022)

Director – Science Policy

Dr. Maikel Rheinstadter
McMaster University

(term ends June 2021)

Director – Member and Affiliate Services

Laura Isabelle Dion-Bertrand
Photon etc.

(term ends June 2022)

Director – Private Sector Relations

Dr. Ian D’Souza
Honeywell Aerospace

(appointed to the Board of Directors for one year)

Call for Nominations