Invited Speakers 2019

Name Institution Talk Title Division(s)
Allison Gonslaves McGill “Networks of support for women in physics:  Understanding the role of equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives in graduate students’ experiences” CEWIP/DPE
Ebrahim Karimi U. Ottawa Quantum Optics and Ion Traps DAMOPC
K. Rajibul Islam IQC, U.Waterloo Quantum Optics and Ion Traps DAMOPC
Kirk W. Madison UBC Degenerate Quantum Gases and Cold Atoms and Molecules DAMOPC/DCMMP
Nisha Rani Agarwal U of Ontario Institute of Technology Light-Matter Interaction and Spectroscopy DAMOPC
Thomas J. Hammond U. Windsor Light-Matter Interaction and Spectroscopy DAMOPC
Cristoph Simon U of Calgary Quantum Information DAMOPC/DTP
Michael Thewalt Simon Fraser University Quantum Information DAMOPC/DTP
Kenji Kojima UBC/Triumf
Japanese Physical Society
James Analytis Berkley DCMMP
David Axen UBC Emeritus DHP
Jared Stang & Joss Eves UBC “Four-way high-fives during exams: Adding a group phase to provide immediate feedback and increase enjoyment.” DPE
Sandra Eix “Director of STEM Learning” at ScienceWorld. “Ignite wonder, empower dreams, explode soda” DPE
Mats Selen Illinois Reforming Intro Physics Labs to Focus on Innovation, Creativity, and Scientific Skills DPE
Gina Passante  Cal State Fullerton “Improving Conceptual Understanding Through Visual Reasoning: An Example from Quantum Mechanics” DPE
Marina Milner-Bolotin UBC “Physics Teaching with Modern Technologies” DPE
Joanne O’Meara Guelph Physics Students as Museum Curators – the incredible success story of STEM Week 2018 DPE
Dr. Cornelia Hoehr TRIUMF DPMB
Prof. Danielle Tokarz Department of Chemistry, Saint Mary’s University DPMB
Prof. Ozzy Mermut Department of Physics and Astronomy, York University DPMB
Prof. Michèle Desjardins Département de physique, de génie physique et d’optique, Université Laval (Québec, QC); Centre de recherche du CHU de Québec – Université Laval (Québec, QC) Axe Oncologie DPMB
Prof.  Zev Bryant  Department of Bioengineering, Stanford University DPMB
Prof. Dan Xiao Department of Physics, University of Windsor DPMB
Dr. Tony Popescu Department of Medical Physics, BC Cancer Agency DPMB
Prof. Anna Celler Department of Radiology, University of British Columbia DPMB
Prof. Na Ji Department of Physics, UC Berkeley DPMB
Dr. Ian V. Ross Nikon Instruments Inc. DPMB
Dror Warshawski UQAM DPMB
Cecile Fradin McMaster DPMB
Peter Tieleman U. Calgary DPMB
Hans Vogel U. Calgary DPMB
Eric Poisson University of Guelph DTP
James Sully UBC DTP
Mark van Rammsdonk UBC DTP
Hari Kunduri MUN DTP
Mark Walton University of Lethbridge DTP
Joanna Karczmarek UBC DTP
Gabor Kunstatter University of Winnipeg DTP
Daniel Stolarski Carleton University DTP
Tom Steele University of Saskatchewan DTP
Matthew Johnson York University & Perimeter Institute DTP
John Bechhoefer SFU
Kari Dalnoki-Verress McMaster
Hendrick de Haan OIT
An-Chang Shi McMaster
Anton Zilman U of T