DTP Prizes and Awards

In April each year, the Division of Theoretical Physics (DTP) and the Winnipeg Institute for Theoretical Physics (WITP) will award one DTP/WITP P.R. Wallace Thesis Prize to a student receiving a PhD degree in Physics from a Canadian University.

The thesis must be in theoretical physics and completed (final version) less than 2 years before the submission deadline of 15 January of the Prize year. The DTP/WITP P.R. Wallace Prize winner must be a member of the CAP and the DTP when the Prize is presented, at the annual Theory CANADA conference, in late May or early June.

Please visit our Thesis Prize Guidelines and Application page for rules and submission requirements. Alternatively, check out the DTP website here.

2019 Thesis Prize Winners:

Robie Hennigar, University of Waterloo

Evan McDonough, McGill University

Past Winners:

2018: Philippe Landry (PhD University of Guelph, 2016) with a thesis entitled “Tidal Response of a Rotating Neutron Star in General Relativity.

2017: No competition held.

2016: Vincent Genest (PhD Université de Montréal 2015) with a thesis entitled “Algebraic Structures, Super-Integrable systems and Orthogonal Polynomials”.

2015: Soloman Akaranka Owerre (Ph.D. Université de Montréal 2014) Thesis: “Études de l’effet tunnel des spins quantiques macroscopiques” (Studies of the tunnel effect of macroscopic quantum spins).