2020 Division Prizes

(la page française suivra sous peu)

To participate in a divisional or sponsored competition (oral or poster), a student must be a member of the division under which they are submitting their abstract; the deadline for joining the CAP or adding a Division membership is 2020 May 6th.

The prize recipients will be announced at the Thursday afternoon student competition announcement plenary.  Prizes include a certificate and a cheque for one of the following amounts:

  • First prize: $200
  • Second prize (if applicable): $100
  • Third prize (if applicable): $50

Prize Scheme

  • 0-2 entrants – no prize (some divisions may award one prize if merited)
  • 3-5 entrants – one prize
  • 6-9 entrants – two prizes
  • 10+ entrants – three prizes

Some divisions may choose to award more or fewer prizes than the scheme allows.


Atmospheric and Space Physics (DASP)

Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Canada (DAMOPC)

Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (DCMMP)

Physics in Medicine and Biology (DPMB)

Nuclear Physics (DNP)

Particle Physics (PPD)

Plasma Physics (DPP); first prize sponsored by Plasmionique Inc.

Surface Science (DSS)

Theoretical Physics (DTP)

Committee to Encourage Women in Physics (CEWIP)

CEWIP will award one prize for the best poster presentation by a female student in the CAP poster competition. The winning female candidate will be picked from the top 6 finalists (male and female) in the general poster competition.

Division of Applied Physics and Instrumentation (DAPI)

DAPI will award one prize for the best overall oral or poster presentation.