2008 CAP Medal and Award Winners

Several recipients have been invited to give a plenary lecture during the 2008 CAP Congress at Laval University in Quebec, from June 8-11. The recipients will be honoured during the Congress banquet to be held on 2008 June 10th.
CRM view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to

Richard Cleve, University of Waterloo, for fundamental results in quantum information theory, including the structure of quantum algorithms and the foundations of quantum communication complexity.

Press release coming soon.
INO view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-INO Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Photonics is awarded to

Jacques Beaulieu, INRS, for the invention of the transversely-excited atmospheric carbon dioxide laser as well as his work in system performance modeling.

Press release coming soon.
Kirkby view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics is awarded to

Peter Calamai, The Toronto Star, for his exemplary communication of science to the public, for his dedication to the promotion of science through the media, and for his advocacy for science in Canada.

Press release coming soon.
Brockhouse view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal is awarded to

Jess Brewer, University of British Columbia, for his pioneering work to develop muon spin relaxation and related techniques, leading to the creation of an important new field in materials physics.

Press release coming soon.
Teaching view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics is awarded to

Adam James Sarty, St. Mary, for inspiring his students to love learning physics, successfully implementing innovative teaching technologies and sharing the beauty of the discipline, through his dedication to physics education.

Press release coming soon.
Herzberg view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Herzberg Medal is awarded to

Carl Svensson, University of Guelph, for his strong leadership and major accomplishments in experimental nuclear physics, including measurements that improve significantly the understanding of high angular momentum states in medium weight nuclei and fundamental physics measurements using radioactive beams.

Press release coming soon.
Achievement view medal information back to top

The 2008 CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics is awarded to

Louis Taillefer, Universite de Sherbrooke, for his strong leadership in condensed matter research, resulting in the discovery of multi-component superconductivity, the first observed violation of the Wiedemann-Franz universal ratio of charge and heat conductivities, and an experimental breakthrough in high-temperature superconductors, where quantum oscillations were discovered.

Press release coming soon.