Medals and Awards

Each year the CAP recognizes excellence in Research, Teaching, and Service in physics within Canada, as listed below. We offer awards to established researchers, enterprising students, promising scientists, and exceptional teachers. Click the links below or to the left to find out more about our various awards and prizes!


Visit individual medal pages to view information regarding descriptions, criteria, and deadlines.


Click here to go to the medal nomination system.

Medals For Research

CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal (awarded annually) CAP Herzberg Medal (awarded annually)
CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics (awarded annually) CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics (awarded annually)
CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal in Subatomic Physics (awarded annually)

Medals for Applied Physics and Research

CAP-INO Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Photonics (awarded on even years) CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics (awarded on odd years)

Medals for Service

CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics (awarded on odd years)

Medals for Teaching

CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High-school/CEGEP Physics (5 regional prizes awarded annually) CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics (awarded annually)

University/Graduate Student Awards and Scholarships

CAP Best Student Paper Awards (awarded annually) Lloyd G. Elliot University Prize Exam (annual competition)
Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Graduate Scholarship (awarded annually) Particle Physics Division PhD Thesis Award (awarded annually)
Div. of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics PhD Thesis Prize (awarded annually) Div. of Condensed Matter and Materials Physics PhD Thesis Award Competition (awarded annually)
Div of Nuclear Physics PhD Thesis Prize (awarded annually) Div of Theoretical Physics/Winnipeg Institute for Theoretical Physics PhD Thesis Prize (awarded annually)

High-school/CEGEP Student Awards and Prizes

High-school/CEGEP Prize Examination (annual competition) Canada-Wide Science Fair (annual competition)
Art of Physics (annual competition)