Know a worthy candidate for this award? See below for nomination criteria and procedure. Ready to nominate? Click here to go to the medal nomination system.

The purpose of this award is to recognize and encourage outstanding experimental or theoretical contributions to subatomic physics. While the main criterion for awarding the Vogt medal is the excellence of the research accomplishments, preference will be given for a recent important advance in subatomic physics and to researchers who are still active. The candidate’s research should have been done primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university, industry or government laboratory.

The medal will be awarded by the Canadian Association of Physicists on the recommendation of a selection committee established by the Canadian Association of Physicists and TRIUMF. In addition to the medal, the recipient will receive a certificate citing the contributions being recognized by the award and a small monetary award. The recipient will also be invited to give a talk at the CAP Congress where the medal will be presented.

The next medal will be awarded in 2022.

Call for nominations will be issued in the Spring of 2022.

Deadline TBD



2021 Winner

Sangyong Jeon | McGill University

View Previous Winners

Nomination Criteria                                       Nomination Procedure

  • The nominator must be a member in good standing of the CAP.
  • The nominee must be a member in good standing of the CAP or a Council-approved Canadian professional science society (see list below) in order to be nominated.
  • The nominee must have spent the major part (i.e. more than one-half) of his/her working career in Canada or must have made a major contribution to physics after returning to a permanent position in Canada.

Council-approved Canadian professional science society for nominators

  • Canadian Association of Physicists
  • Canadian Astronomical Society
  • Canadian Geophysical Union
  • Canadian Mathematical Society
  • Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
  • Canadian Organization for Medical Physicists
  • Canadian Society for Chemistry