CAP High School/Cegep Prize Exam History

The CAP High School Prize examination has been in existence for many years and has been taken by many thousands of students at the end of their high school physics education. Although the prize money has been donated by the CAP in Ottawa, there were originally ten distinct examinations, created and marked provincially. In 1995, for the first time, a single examination was created by a Committee chaired by J. Wylie of the Canadian Chemistry and Physics Olympiad (CCPO) and written by students across the country. This Committee is now chaired by Prof. Nigel Edwards and Dr. Catherine Robin of the University of Toronto .

Until 1997, the national prizes were sponsored by Inco. In 1998, the prizes for the top three national participants are being sponsored by the Canadian Chemistry and Physics Olympiad, with the CAP offering prizes to the top provincial participants. Certificates of merit are also offered provincially. In some cases, the provincial prizes are supplemented by the provincial university Physics departments. Many university scholarships and admissions committees have used the results in their decisions.