Lloyd G. Elliott University Prize Exam

The final results of the 2020 University Prize Exam are now available.  We appreciate your patience while we worked with the National Coordinator to revisit and finalize the results so all participants were accounted for.

The results of the 2021 University Prize Exam are being processed and will be posted by 2021 September 10th are also available now.

The CAP University Prize Examination, normally held in February or March of each year, is a national competition open to students across the country who are studying physics and are enrolled in an undergraduate program at the time of the examination. All eligible students are encouraged to participate.

In 2021, the CAP Foundation provided the following prizes*:

  • First prize, the Lloyd G. Elliott Prize – $500
  • Second prize – $300
  • Third prize – $200

In addition, when the CAP Congress is held in person, prize winners who attend the CAP annual Congress will be presented with their award during the annual award ceremony at the end of Congress.

Donations to support the work of the CAP Foundation are always welcome and tax receipts are issued.

*Prizes must be claimed within two (2) years of their issuance.

2022 University Prize Exam

The 2022 prize exam will be held on either February 8th, 2022 or March 8th, 2022 (exact date to be determined shortly).

The examination is normally held at the following times:

2:30pm – Nfld
2pm – Atlantic
1pm – Eastern
12pm – Central
11am – Mountain
10am – Pacific

The students were allowed three hours to write the exam. Calculators are permitted.

Click HERE for Previous CAP University Prize Exams and Results